The 2023 Bocas Children’s Book Prize winner is Garnet Lawrence’s Anansi and the Fire Ants. The announcement was made on Sunday 10 December, 2023. Lawrence, a T&T playwright, poet, and screenwriter based in Barbados, will receive a US$1,000 cash prize courtesy the Wainwright Family, along with the coveted title.

About the Prize

The annual Bocas Lit Fest’s Children’s Book Prize is a prize given to one English-language book for children, written by a Caribbean* author. The prize is administered by the Bocas Lit Fest, and sponsored by The Wainwright Family. It is awarded annually for the most outstanding contribution to Caribbean literature for young independent readers, ages 7 to 12. 

The prize is open for entries from 17 July to 18 September 2023. The winner will be announced in December 2023, and will receive a US $1,000 cash prize. 

*See Appendix 1 for a list of territories which constitute the Caribbean for the purposes of this prize.

2023 Judges

The prize is judged by an independent panel of children’s literature experts. The panel includes a chief judge, two other judges, and a young reader who will join the adjudication process at the second stage and contribute to selecting the winner.

Chief Judge
Please select listing to show.

Prize Judges

Please select listing to show.

Young Reader

Please select listing to show.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *