The 2024 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, sponsored by One Caribbean Media, is now open for submissions. See the eligibility and entry guidelines and online entry form below.

[gravityform id="32" title="true"]
Past winners of the OCM Bocas Prize

Overall and fiction winner: When We Were Birds, by Ayanna Lloyd Banwo
Poetry winner: Sonnets for Albert, by Anthony Joseph
Non-fiction winner: Love the Dark Days, by Ira Mathur

Overall and fiction winner: Pleasantview, by Celeste Mohammed
Poetry winner: Talking With Trees, by Jason Allen-Paisant
Non-fiction winner: Things I Have Withheld, by Kei Miller

Overall and poetry winner: The Dyzgraphxst, by Canisia Lubrin
Fiction winner: These Ghosts Are Family, by Maisy Card
Non-fiction winner: The Undiscovered Country, by Andre Bagoo

Overall and poetry winner: Epiphaneia, by Richard Georges
Fiction winner: Everything Inside, by Edwidge Danticat
Non-fiction winner: Shame on Me: An Anatomy of Race and Belonging, by Tessa McWatt

Overall and non-fiction winner: High Mas: Carnival and the Poetics of Caribbean Culture, by Kevin Adonis Browne
Poetry winner: Doe Songs, by Danielle Boodoo-Fortuné
Fiction winner: Theory, by Dionne Brand

Overall and fiction winner: Curfew Chronicles, by Jennifer Rahim
Poetry winner: Madwoman, by Shara McCallum
There was no non-fiction winner for 2018, as the judges did not believe any of the eligible books “could be held to represent the best of regional writing”

Overall and fiction winner: Augustown, by Kei Miller
Poetry winner: Cannibal, by Safiya Sinclair
Non-fiction winner: Virtual Glimpses into the Past/A Walk Back in Time: Snapshots of the History of Trinidad and Tobago, by Angelo Bissessarsingh

Overall and fiction winner: The Pain Tree, by Olive Senior
Poetry winner: Wife, by Tiphanie Yanique
Non-fiction winner: The Gymnast and Other Positions, by Jacqueline Bishop

Overall and poetry winner: Sounding Ground, by Vladimir Lucien
Fiction winner: A Brief History of Seven Killings, by Marlon James
Non-fiction winner: Dying to Better Themselves: West Indians and the Building of the Panama Canal, by Olive Senior

Overall and fiction winner: As Flies to Whatless Boys, by Robert Antoni
Poetry winner: Oracabessa, by Lorna Goodison
Non-fiction winner: Writing Down the Vision: Essays and Prophecies, by Kei Miller

Overall and fiction winner: Archipelago, by Monique Roffey
Poetry winner: Fault Lines, by Kendel Hippolyte
Non-fiction winner: The Sky’s Wild Noise: Selected Essays, by Rupert Roopnaraine

Overall and fiction winner: Is Just a Movie, by Earl Lovelace
Poetry winner: The Twelve-Foot Neon Woman, by Loretta Collins Klobah
Non-fiction winner: George Price: A Life Revealed, by Godfrey P. Smith

Overall and poetry winner: White Egrets, by Derek Walcott
Fiction winner: How to Escape from a Leper Colony, by Tiphanie Yanique
Non-fiction winner: Create Dangerously: The Immigrant Artist at Work, by Edwidge Danticat